top of page


The Powerhouse muscles start at the bottom of your ribs and run down to the top of the hip and all the way to the bottom of your pelvis. The six main muscles that create the Powerhouse are:

1. Transverse Abdominal Muscle is the muscle layer of the anterior and lateral (front & side) wall which is deep within the internal oblique muscle abdominal.

2. The Diaphragm is the muscle that separates the chest cavity from the abdomen, and it is the main muscle of respiration.

3. The Multifidus Muscle is a very thin, small muscle but powerful in that it gives support to the spine. Located deep in the spine, it spans three joint segments, and works to stabilize each of those joints. The stability makes each vertebra work more effectively and reduces the degeneration of the joint structure.

4.Quadratus Lumborum Muscle is the deepest abdominal muscle located in your lower back on either side of your lumbar. It contributes to the stabilization and movement of the spine and the pelvis.

5.Pelvic Floor Muscles are the layer that supports the pelvic organs and spans the bottom of the pelvis. They work with your deep abdominal, deep back muscles and diaphragm to support your spine. They also help control the pressure inside your abdomen to deal with the pushing down force when you lift or strain - such as during exercise.

bottom of page